Researching Extra Wizard Spells (Optional Rule)

Some DMs and players feel it is unfair that a wizard can't research a spell simply because he has as many spells of a particular level as he is allowed to have. The DM can allow a wizard to have spells in his spell book beyond the maximum allowed by the character's Intelligence--provided that character goes to the trouble of researching new spells.

All the standard rules for spell research apply. In addition, the DM should allow only those new spells that the player himself has created. Players cannot use this as an excuse to add a spell they would otherwise not be able to learn.

For example, say a player character has failed to learn the fireball spell before his book is filled. Although the player can still research and add new spells, he cannot do so for a fireball-type spell that inflicts 1d4 points of damage per level.

The spells researched must be new and original--this forces players to be creative and involved. Beyond these restrictions, there is no limit to the number of spells a character can research at a given level.

(See also
Wizard Spells from the Players Handbook, Wizard Spells from the Tome of Magic, Wizard Spells by School--Master Listing, Tome of Magic)

Table of Contents