Command Words (Optional Rule)

A rod is normally activated when the wielder utters a specific command word. This word acts like a trigger, unleashing the power stored within the item. Since control of a rod depends on knowledge of the command word, these are jealously guarded by the owner. An absent-minded wizard can etch the command word on the item or carry it on a piece of paper in his pocket, but this is only rarely done. Most often the character must use spells of the divination school or sages to discover the correct command to activate a rod.

Table of Contents